top of page
Search

Dreams make Life Doable

Naturally, I'm a dreamer. I sometimes think I dream way more than the average person. Is that a bad thing? I dunno. But I can say that dreaming about what could happen in life, makes life tolerable. For as long as I can remember, I dreamt about being this independent woman with a great career. Self proclaimed, self sufficient, and so damn independent. I dreamt of going to college, buying a home, traveling to NYC on my own. Kinda like Sex in the City (I know, I'm super corny). Funny thing is, I never dreamt of a wedding, children, or having a husband. I don't know why that never crossed my mind as a young girl. Then all of a sudden...bam! I'm pregnant and alone. My dreams transitioned to getting a career that would provide for my new baby. Fast forward a few years and most of those dreams came true. As the years past, my longing for being that independent woman never went away, but got put on hold. It also doesn't include being whisked away to NYC and living this single, amazing life (kidding, well kind of). The dreams I have now are to fulfill my inner strength, my need to not feel needed by others, to be a little selfish. Y'all, I've been a mommy since I was 16. I have been a mom for more than half my life, and I'm 35. Dreams make life tolerable. It's something we continue to go after, it's the inner strength that makes us fight through the heartache, the failures, and the disappointments. Dreams make you get out of bed and fight another day to the life you've always wanted. When I dreamt of becoming a nurse, it was an everyday fight to continue. The coursework was so hard and add two small children and a full-time job to the mix and it was literally the worse 5 years of my life....but it was my dream. As I sit in a coffee shop, I reflect on my next dream. I can share it with you all. Please don't think I'm crazy. My dreams now are to finish my Nurse Practitioner degree (I'm almost done) and work for low cost clinics to provide care to the needy. And on the side (yep, because one dream isn't enough), I've always wanted to own a bookstore. If you don't know me personally, you should know that my obsessions with books is out of control. I want to walk into my bookstore and smell the pages of old, first editions. I want to spread my love of books to others.


Keep dreaming friends.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It's been a while..

Since my last post, September 2019, life was full of mental anguish. Around that time, I had stepped into a leader position with the company I was working for. I was 6 months into the role, and let's

Two Sides to Every Story

Do we go through life constantly telling our side of the story, forever trying to prove that we didn't do this or we did this. It is a battle to always try and salvage your name. And quite frankly...i

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page